WGA Award Nominees Announced

Dec 15, 2004  •  Post A Comment

Episodes of “The West Wing,” “Sex in the City” and “The Simpsons” led the list of nominees for the 57th annual Writers Guild of America Awards, announced Wednesday by the east and west branches of the WGA.

“The West Wing” and “Sex in the City” were the most nominated nonanimated series, each scoring two entries, in the episodic drama and episodic comedy categories, respectively. Episodes of “Six Feet Under,” “The Sopranos,” “Arrested Development,” “Malcolm in the Middle” and “Wonderfalls” were also nominated. “The Simpsons” swept the animation category, nabbing four of the five nomination slots.

For long-form original, FX’s “Redemption,” HBO’s “Something the Lord Made” and Showtime’s “Spinning Boris” were nominated.

The winners will be announced Feb. 19 at WGA Awards ceremonies on both coasts.

The complete list of television nominees:

Episodic Drama — any length/one airing time

“Memorial Day” (The West Wing), Written by John Sacret Young and Josh Singer; NBC

“The Supremes” (The West Wing), Written by Debora Cahn; NBC

“Falling Into Place” (Six Feet Under), Written by Craig Wright; HBO

“Long Term Parking” (The Sopranos), Written by Terence Winter; HBO

Episodic Comedy — any length/one airing timea

“Splat!” (Sex and the City), Written by Jenny Bicks and Cindy Chupack; HBO

“Pier Pressure” (Arrested Development), Written by Jim Vallely and Mitchell Hurwitz; Fox

“The Ick Factor” (Sex and the City), Written by Julie Rottenberg and Elisa Zuritsky; HBO

“Pilot” (Wonderfalls), Teleplay by Bryan Fuller, Story By Todd Holland and Bryan Fuller; Fox

“Ida’s Boyfriend” (Malcolm in the Middle), Written by Neil Thompson; Fox

Long Form — over one hour/one or two parts/one or two airing times

Redemption, Written by J.T. Allen; FX

Something the Lord Made, Written by Peter Silverman and Robert Caswell; HBO

Spinning Boris, Written by Yuri Zeltser & Cary Bickley; Showtime

Long Form/Adapted — over one hour/one or two parts/one or two airing times

Cavedweller, Screenplay by Anne Meredith, based upon the novel by Dorothy Allison; Showtime

The Wool Cap, Teleplay by William H. Macy and Steven Schachter, based upon the original story “Gigot” written by Jackie Gleason; TNT

Angels in America, Teleplay by Tony Kushner, based on the play by Tony Kushner; HBO

Animation — any length/one airing time

“Today I am a Clown” (The Simpsons), Written by Joel H. Cohen; Fox

“Fraudcast News” (The Simpsons), Written by Don Payne; Fox

“Starcrossed” (Justice League), Written by Rich Fogel, John Ridley, Dwayne McDuffie, Story by Rich Fogel; Cartoon Network

“Milhouse Doesn’t Live Here Anymore” (The Simpsons), Written by Julie Chambers and David Chambers; Fox

“Catch ‘Em if You Can” (The Simpsons), Written by Ian Maxtone-Graham; Fox

Comedy/Variety — Music, Awards, Tributes/Specials any length

The Kennedy Center Honors, Written by George Stevens Jr. and Sara Lukinson; CBS

The 58th Annual Tony Awards, Written by Dave Boone and Bruce Vilanch; CBS

Comedy/Variety — (including talk) Series

Late Night With Conan O’Brien, Written by Mick Sweeney, Chris Albers, Jose Arroyo, Andy Blitz, Kevin Dorff, Dan Goor, Michael Gordon, Brian Kiley, Michael Koman,

Demetri Martin, Brian McCann, Guy Nicolucci, Conan O’Brien, Allison Silverman,

Robert Smigel, Brian Stack, Andrew Weinberg; NBC

MadTV, Writing Supervised by Scott King, Written by Dick Blasucci, Bryan Adams,

Lauren Dombrowski, Steven Cragg, Chris Cluess, John Crane, Michael Hitchcock, Jennifer Joyce, Jason Kordelos, Brooks McBeth, Bruce McCoy, Michael McDonald,

Rick Najera, Tami Sagher, David Salzman, Rich Talarico, Stephnie Weir, Maiya Williams, Jim Wise; Fox

Penn & Teller Bullshit!, Written by Penn Jillette, Teller, Star Price, John McLaughlin, Jon Hotchkiss, Emma Webster, David Wechter, Jonathan Taylor, Special Material Written by Michael Goudeau; Showtime

Real Time With Bill Maher, Written by Scott Carter and Brian Jacobsmeyer and

Jay Jaroch and Chris Kelly and Bill Maher and Billy Martin and Ned Rice and

Paul F. Tompkins; HBO

Daytime Serials

Guiding Light, Written by David Kreizman, Joyce Brotman, Christopher Dunn,

Lloyd Gold, Kimberly Hamilton, Jill Lorie Hurst, Penelope Koechl, Eleanor Labine,

Royal Miller, Casandra Morgan, Danielle Paige, David Smilow, Gillian Spencer,

Brett Staneart, Donna Swajeski, Ellen Weston; CBS

Children’s Script

A Separate Peace, Teleplay by Wendy Kesselman, based on the Novel by

John Knowles; Showtime

A Wrinkle in Time, Teleplay by Susan Shilliday, based on the Novel by

Madeleine L’Engle; ABC

Documentary/Current Events

Last Man Standing: Politics Texas, Style (POV), Written by Paul Stekler; PBS

From China With Love (Frontline), Written by Michael J. Kirk; PBS

Documentary/Other Than Current Events

Emma Goldman (American Experience), Written by Mel Bucklin; PBS

Reconstruction, Part 1 (American Experience), Telescript by Llewellyn M. Smith, Story by Elizabeth Deane & Patricia Garcia Rios; PBS

RFK (American Experience), Written by David Grubin; PBS

The Fight (American Experience), Written by Barak Goodman; PBS

Oh, What a Beautiful Morning (Broadway: The American Musical – Episode 4), Written by Jo Ann Young; PBS

Revolutionaries (They Made America), Telescript by Carl Charlson, Story by

Harold Evans; PBS

News/Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin or Breaking Report

Remembering Ray Charles (CBS News, WBBM Chicago), Written by

Jonathan W. Kaplan; CBS

The Reagan Funeral (ABC World News Tonight with Peter Jennings), Written by

Steve Alperin; ABC

News/Analysis, Feature, or Commentary

Change of Heart (60 Minutes II), Written by Rebecca Peterson & Scott Pelley; CBS

Homes for the Homeless (UPN 9 News), Written by Jacqueline M. Calayag; WWOR

Martha Stewart (60 Minutes II), Written by Barbara Dury & Morley Safer; CBS