CBS Forms Band for ‘Rock Star’ Second Season

Mar 17, 2006  •  Post A Comment

Three musicians are forming a band as part of the second season of CBS’s summer reality series “Rock Star,” and will select a lead singer as part of the show’s competition between a group of musical hopefuls.

The new band, Supernova, will feature drummer Tommy Lee (Motley Crüe), Jason Newsted (Metallica) and Gilby Clarke (Guns N’ Roses). In each episode the Supernova band members will help whittle down the list of hopefuls until one winner remains.

After the winning singer is selected, Supernova will record an original album that will be released in the fall before the band embarks on a world tour starting in early 2007.

Dave Navarro and Brooke Burke will return as hosts, with Ms. Burke returning to the stage for introductions and Mr. Navarro returning to the judges’ couch for input and evaluations.

In the first season of “Rock Star,” the band INXS found a new lead singer, J.D. Fortune. Since the show, INXS has released the single “Pretty Vegas” and sold out every concert in their North American tour. Their new CD, “Switch,” debuted in the Billboard Top 20.

“Rock Star” is produced by Mark Burnett Productions. Mark Burnett, David Goffin, Lisa Hennessy, Dave Navarro, Tommy Lee and Carl Stubner are executive producers.