ABC Leads Networks With 6 GLAAD Media Award Nominations

Jan 26, 2009  •  Post A Comment

ABC led the broadcast networks among the nominees for the 20th annual GLAAD Media Awards, receiving six nominations, followed by CBS with four and The CW with three.
The awards are presented by the Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation, a watch group dedicated to fair and accurate representation in the media of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community.
Awards ceremonies will be held on March 28 in New York, April 18 in Los Angeles and May 9 in San Francisco.
GLAAD Media Award nominations recognized 185 nominees in 41 categories in both English- and Spanish-language media, including film, TV, music, print and online.
Among the leaders in cable TV are the LGBT-themed channel Logo with five nominations, MSNBC with three and BBC America with two.
In the Spanish-language categories, Univision led the networks with 14 nominations, followed by Telemundo with six and Azteca América with four.
A full list of the nominees is available at GLAAD’s Web site.
In addition to announcing winners in each of the categories, GLAAD will give special recognition to Tyra Banks and Suze Orman at its New York presentation.
Ms. Banks will receive the Excellence in Media Award for her work to increase “visibility and understanding” of the LGBT community. Her shows, “America’s Next Top Model” and “The Tyra Banks Show,” both are nominated for awards this year.
Ms. Orman will be recognized as the recipient of the Vito Russo Award, given to an openly lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender professional in the media who has helped promote equal rights for the LGBT community.
Special recognition recipients for the Los Angeles and San Francisco ceremonies will be announced at a later date.

One Comment

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)