Fun Facts About the Hallmark Hall of Fame, From the Show’s Website

May 9, 2011  •  Post A Comment

First Broadcast: "Amahl and the Night Visitors" on Christmas Eve 1951 (first opera ever commissioned for television)

Average Running Time of Broadcast: 96 minutes (8-10 minutes longer than typical made-for-television movies)

Number of Broadcasts: 242 to date (of those, 33 have been encore presentations)

Number of Awards: 129 Total
80 Emmys (more than twice as many as any other TV series)
25 Christopher Awards
11 Peabody Awards
9 Golden Globes
4 Humanitas Prizes

Award-Winning Actors: 62 Academy Award-winning actors have appeared in Hallmark Hall of Fame presentations. That is one-fourth of all the actors who have ever won an Oscar.

Most-Watched Broadcast: 1997 production of "What the Deaf Man Heard," starring Matthew Modine and James Earl Jones, holds the series’ viewership record of nearly 23 million viewers.

Most-Honored Broadcast: 1986 production of "Promise," starring James Garner and James Woods, is the most-honored single program in television history (5 Emmys, 1 Christopher Award, 1 Peabody Award, 2 Golden Globes, 1 Humanitas Prize). Here’s a brief description of the show, from Imdb: "When his mother dies, Bob not only inherits her house, but also the custody of his younger brother, who suffers from schizophrenia and epilepsy. At the age of 21, Bob promised to look after his brother."


Length of Hallmark Commercials: 2 minutes average (for those running during Hallmark Hall of Fame movies)

Average Number of Hallmark Commercials: 8 commercials per two-hour broadcast

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)