RTDNA Announces 2016 Regional Edward R. Murrow Winners

Apr 19, 2016  •  Post A Comment

Press release from Radio Television Digital News Association, April 19, 2016:

RTDNA has announced the winners of the 2016 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards. The awards recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.

“We are delighted to honor the great work being done by local newsrooms,” said RTDNA Chair Kathy Walker. “Whether the winning entries come from a large team of journalists in a big city, or from a single, dedicated reporter in a small town, each demonstrates the value of exceptional journalism.”

“Our winners shed light on important issues and solve problems in their communities,” added RTDNA Executive Director Mike Cavender. “We’re proud to recognize their achievements.”

This year, RTDNA awarded 654 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 14 categories, including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Investigative Reporting, and Website.

RTDNA received more than 4,300 entries during the 2016 awards season, setting an all-time record for the fourth year in a row.

In the large market television category, KING-TV in Seattle led the way with nine Murrows this year. Among other categories, they took home awards in Overall Excellence, Feature Reporting and Investigative Reporting.

WISC-TV in Madison, Wisconsin took home eight Murrows, the most in the small market television category. This included wins in the Overall Excellence, Investigative Reporting and Newscast categories.

KUT-FM in Austin, Texas was tops in large market radio, winning seven regional Murrow Awards, including News Series, Writing and Overall Excellence.

In the small market radio category, Marfa Public Radio in Marfa, Texas took home eight Murrows, including Overall Excellence, News Series and News Documentary.

Among non-broadcast affiliated winners, Reveal from The Center for Investigative Reporting received six awards.

Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged in May. National awards, including those for network news organizations and for students, will be announced in June. The national awards are presented at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York City on October 10.

A complete list of the 2016 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards winners can be found at rtdna.org.

2016 Edward R. Murrow Regional Winners

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)