Variety; THR

Disney Officially Names the Executives Who Will Be In Charge of the Fox Properties It Is Acquiring

Oct 8, 2018  •  Post A Comment

“Top 21st Century Fox television executives Peter Rice, Dana Walden, John Landgraf, and Gary E. Knell are officially headed to the Magic Kingdom,” reports Daniel Holloway for Variety.

The story continues, “The Walt Disney Co. announced that Rice and Walden will come aboard to lead the conglomerate’s non-sports television operations. Rice has been named chairman, Walt Disney Television and co-chair, Disney Media Networks. Walden has been named chairman, Disney Television Studios and ABC Entertainment. Landgraf will serve as Chairman of FX Networks and FX Productions. Knell will serve as Chairman of National Geographic Partners.”

The story explains that “In his new role, Rice will oversee ABC Television Network, ABC Studios, the ABC Owned Television Stations Group, Disney Channels, Freeform, Twentieth Century Fox Television, FX Networks and FX Productions, Fox 21 Television Studios, and the National Geographic channels. Walden, Landgraf, and Knell will report to him, as will Disney Channels Worldwide president and chief creative officer Gary Marsh and ABC News president James Goldston.”

In addition, “Reporting to Walden will be ABC Entertainment president Channing Dungey, ABC Studios president Patrick Moran, 20th Century Fox Television presidents Jonathan Davis and Howard Kurtzman, Fox 21 Television Studios president Bert Salke, Freeform president Tom Ascheim, and ABC Owned TV Stations Group president Wendy McMahon.”

As has been previously reported, Walden’s partner at Fox, Gary Newman, is expected to stay at Fox to run Fox Broadcasting, which was not part of the Disney acquisition.

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)