Logo

TVWeek

Luke Perry Tribute Set

Mar 13, 2019  •  Post A Comment

A tribute to actor Luke Perry, who died March 4 at age 52, will air this Sunday, March 17, on Reelz. The one-hour special, “Luke Perry: In His Own Words,” is scheduled for 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

The special “explores the career and life of the man who captivated fans in his portrayal of Dylan McKay of the hit TV series ‘Beverly Hills, 90210,'” Reelz said in announcing the tribute. “The special includes his own reflections on a life of influence, legacy, romances and personal tragedy as well as interviews with his close friends and co-stars who share the private side of the actor with a generous soul with charisma to burn.”

Steve Cheskin, senior VP of programming for Reelz, commented: “We look forward to sharing this touching tribute to Luke Perry with our viewers. He was a beloved Hollywood star whose work in television and movies struck a chord with generations of fans around the world and to the friends and colleagues who knew him best he was known for his humble generosity and being a devoted father.”

The announcement adds: “Sharing their firsthand stories of Perry are ‘Beverly Hills, 90210’ cast and crew including the show’s executive producer Charles Rosin, who originally cast Perry, along with writer Larry Mollin and fellow cast member Jennie Garth, who lovingly remembers her on-screen kiss with Perry and talks about where she thinks the show’s heartthrob Dylan McKay would be today.”

“Luke Perry: In His Own Words” also has Perry’s “Riverdale” co-stars Marisol Nichols and others who discuss working with Perry. Viewers will also hear from Perry’s former agent Chris Nassif, Dr. Drew Pinksy and Dr. Oz, along with entertainment experts and reporters including Us Weekly correspondent Christina Garibaldi.

The documentary is executive produced by Dylan Howard for Us Weekly.

Encore presentations of “Luke Perry: In His Own Words”:

  • Sunday, March 17 at 11pm ET/ 8pm PT and 1am ET/ 10pm PT
  • Thursday, March 21 at 8pm ET/ 5pm PT and 11pm ET/ 8pm PT

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)