Golden Globes to Honor Talk Show Host

Nov 4, 2019  •  Post A Comment

A TV talk host who is being called a pioneer of the medium will be honored at the upcoming Golden Globe Awards with the Carol Burnett Award.

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association announced today that the award will be presented to Ellen DeGeneres at the 77th annual Golden Globes, scheduled for Jan. 5, 2020.

Chosen by the HFPA Board of Directors, the award is presented annually to an honoree who has made outstanding contributions to the television medium on or off the screen.

“As the television landscape continues to evolve with more thought-provoking programming, diverse roles and best in class content, the HFPA established the Carol Burnett Award to celebrate the medium’s new Golden Age,” the HFPA said in today’s announcement. “Equivalent to its film accolade counterpart, the Cecil B. DeMille Award, the top honor was first introduced at the 76th Annual Golden Globe Awards.”

Added Lorenzo Soria, president of the HFPA: “The Hollywood Foreign Press Association is delighted to honor Ellen DeGeneres with the Carol Burnett Award. From her sitcoms to stand-up, to becoming a household staple on daytime television, she is a pioneer who has captivated audiences for nearly 25 years with her undeniable charm and wit. In addition to her television success, she’s an advocate and philanthropist, lending her voice to those who don’t have one, and spreading kindness and joy through the power of her platform.”

DeGeneres will be the second honoree to receive the award, following Carol Burnett a year earlier.

Click here for more in the HFPA’s announcement.

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)