Emmy Voters Give a Big Sendoff to ‘Breaking Bad’ — We Have the Full List of Winners

Aug 26, 2014  •  Post A Comment

AMC’s “Breaking Bad” was the big winner at Monday night’s 66th Primetime Emmy Awards, dominating the drama acting awards and claiming the night’s biggest prize, the trophy for outstanding drama series.

After wrapping its fifth and final season last year, Vince Gilligan’s groundbreaking drama about meth-dealing family man Walter White took home five Emmys, including outstanding actor (Bryan Cranston), supporting actor (Aaron Paul), supporting actress (Anna Gunn) and writing (Moira Walley-Beckett).

For Cranston, it was his fourth Emmy for “Breaking Bad.” Paul won for the third time for his role on the series, while Gunn took the trophy for the second year in a row.  The show won outstanding drama series for the second time.

Outstanding actress in a drama series went to Julianna Margulies for CBS’s “The Good Wife,” Margulies’ third Emmy overall — including one in 1995 for “ER” — and her second for “The Good Wife.”

On the comedy side, the Television Academy again leaned heavily toward Emmy perennials, naming ABC’s “Modern Family” as outstanding comedy series for the fifth consecutive year, Jim Parsons as outstanding actor for “The Big Bang Theory” — his fourth win in the category for his role on the CBS series — and Julia Louis-Dreyfus as outstanding actress for “Veep,” her third win in a row for the HBO comedy series and her fifth Emmy overall.

Supporting actor in a comedy series went to Ty Burrell of “Modern Family,” with Allison Janney taking home the trophy for supporting actress in a comedy series for CBS’s “Mom.”

PBS’s “Sherlock: His Last Vow” also had a big night, with Benedict Cumberbatch winning as outstanding actor in a miniseries or movie, while Martin Freeman won supporting actor in the category and Steven Moffat won for writing for a miniseries, movie or dramatic special.

FX’s “Fargo” was named outstanding miniseries, while HBO’s “The Normal Heart” won outstanding TV movie.

The awards were fairly balanced among the networks, with CBS faring the best of the broadcast nets — and holding its own against competition from cable — by claiming five trophies during the prime-time telecast. That tied CBS for No. 1 with FX and AMC, which also took five awards each. Other multiple winners were HBO with four trophies and ABC and PBS with three apiece.

Please click here to see the full list of winners from last night’s ceremony, along with all the nominees.


One Comment

  1. “Sherlock: His Last Vow” is from PBS Masterpiece not BBC America.

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)